Ogier tops WRC Rallye Monte Carlo 2023 shakedown

Ogier tops Rallye Monte Carlo shakedown

Sébastien Ogier topped the timesheets at the morning’s shakedown ahead of the start of the Monte Carlo Rally this evening.

The margins were small after three runs of the 2.29-kilometre-long shakedown stage. Sébastien Ogier, an eight-time winner in Monaco, set the fastest time with a 1:44.6.

Defending world champion Kalle Rovanperä was the fastest driver after two runs but ended three tenths behind Ogier despite improving his time in his third and final run.

Hyundai driver Thierry Neuville was third fastest, just a tenth behind Rovanperä and a tenth ahead of Toyota’s Elfyn Evans.

Dani Sordo, a three-time podium finisher in Monte Carlo, set the fifth fastest time, a further 0.4s adrift of Evans.

The M-Sport Fords occupied the sixth and seventh place with Loubet completing the stage two tenths behind Sordo. Ott Tänak ended shakedown 0.4s behind his French team-mate. New Hyundai recruit Esapekka Lappi was eighth, 2.4s behind Ogier’s leading time and half a second ahead of Takamoto Katsuta who couldn’t improve in his final run.

The Monte Carlo Rally starts this evening with two special stages running in the dark. SS1 starts at 20:05 local time.

Find everything you need to know (Itinerary, Maps, Rally Guides, Entry list) about WRC Rallye Monte Carlo here!

Don’t miss anything from the action at Rallye Monte Carlo via our social media channels:
– Facebook
– Twitter
– Instagram

WRC Rallye Monte Carlo 2023 – Shakedown results

#DriversCarTime / Diff. to 1st
1.Ogier / LandaisToyota GR Yaris Rally11:44.6
2.Rovanperä / HalttunenToyota GR Yaris Rally1+0.3
3.Neuville / WydaegheHyundai i20 N Rally1+0.4
4.Evans / MartinToyota GR Yaris Rally1+0.5
5.Sordo / CarreraHyundai i20 N Rally1+0.9
6.Loubet / GilsoulFord Puma Rally1+1.1
7.Tänak / JärveojaFord Puma Rally1+1.5
8.Lappi / FermHyundai i20 N Rally1+2.4
9.Katsuta / JohnstonToyota GR Yaris Rally1+2.9
10.Serderidis / MiclotteFord Puma Rally1+12.5

Photo: Toyota Gazoo Racing