Ogier/Ingrassia take 8th WRC title with victory in Rally Monza

Ogier/Ingrassia take 8th WRC title with victory in Rally Monza

Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia are the 2021 WRC champions! The duo took their eighth title in style with their 54th rally victory in their last rally together.

The lead changed five times on Saturday which meant that the battle for victory in Monza was close. At the beginning of Sunday, Ogier had a lead of 0.5s over his team mate and title rival Elfyn Evans.

Ogier and Evans set identical stage times in the opening stage of Sunday. The leader had a little scare in the stage as he touched a concrete block in a chicane. Ogier survived the moment without damaging his car.

A top 3 finish for Ogier would secure him the his eighth WRC title. While the title was his priority going into the final day, he admitted that a win in his final rally together with Julien Ingrassia “would be the cherry on the cake”.

In the second and penultimate stage of the rally Evans stalled twice, losing 7.1s to Ogier as a result. It meant that the latter had a 7.6s advantage heading into the final stage of the season.

Ogier takes 8th WRC title in style

Thierry Neuville won the final stage of the season which also marks the final stage of the World rally Car era. The Belgian won all three stages on Sunday but didn’t manage to overtake Sordo for the final podium spot.

But at the end of the rally it’s all about Ogier and Ingrassia. They take their 54th rally win in their final rally together and are now WRC champions for the eighth time!

Elfyn Evans was dependent on Ogier’s performance this weekend. The Welshman, like last year, finishes second in the championship standings. Neuville ends the championship in third. It’s Neuville’s sixth time of his career that he finishes the championship on the podium.

Toyota wrapped up the Manufacturers title at Rally Monza. The Japanese-Finnish team only needed 5 points to regain the title. Yohan Rossel won the WRC3 title in a close battle with Kajetan Kajetanowicz. The title protagonists were level on point heading into the rally. Rossel beat Kajetanowicz in the final stage and ends the rally just 3.1s ahead and thus is the WRC3 champion.

The finish of Rally Monza’s Powerstage marks not only the end of the 2021 season but also the end of the World Rally Car era of the WRC. Next season, the Rally1 regulations are introduced as the top level cars switch to hybrid power for the first time ever.

Rallye Monte Carlo is the first event of the new era on January 20 – 23! More information about the 2022 WRC Calendar here!

Keep updated with the latest news in the world of rallying via our social media channels or website:

WRC Rally Monza 2021 – Final (unofficial) classification

#DriversCarTime / Diff. to 1st
1.Ogier / IngrassiaToyota Yaris WRC2:39:08.6
2.Evans / MartinToyota Yaris WRC+7.3
3.Sordo / CarreraHyundai i20 Coupé WRC+21.3
4.Neuville / WydaegheHyundai i20 Coupé WRC+32.0
5.Solberg / EdmondsonHyundai i20 Coupé WRC+1:32.0
6.Suninen / MarkkulaHyundai i20 Coupé WRC+2:22.6
7.Katsuta / JohnstonToyota Yaris WRC+2:34.5
8.Greensmith / AnderssonFord Fiesta WRC+2:50.2
9.Rovanperä / HalttunenToyota Yaris WRC+4:49.6
10.Crugnola / OmettoHyundai i20 N Rally2+9:06.9

WRC Drivers’ Championship standings 2021 after Round 12/12 [Top 10]

1.Sébastien Ogier230
2.Elfyn Evans207
3.Thierry Neuville176
4.Kalle Rovanperä142
5.Ott Tänak128
6.Dani Sordo81
7.Takamoto Katsuta78
8.Craig Breen76
9.Gus Greensmith64
10.Adrien Fourmaux42

WRC Manufacturers’ Championship standings after Round 12/12

1.Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT522
2.Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT463
3.M-Sport Ford WRT200
4.Hyundai 2C Compétition68

Photo: Toyota Gazoo Racing